Keisei Skyliner discount e-ticket (Narita)
Narita Airport–Ueno/Nippori: ¥2,310 one way or ¥4,500 round trip online, vs ¥2,580 at the station. Children ¥1,150.
Japan runs on tap-to-pay IC cards. One card (or one phone) pays for trains, subways, buses, convenience stores, vending machines and coin lockers almost anywhere in the country. Ski resorts use a separate kind of IC lift card: a reloadable chip card you keep in a pocket and that opens the lift gates without being taken out.
This guide covers both: which transport IC card to get in 2026, how Welcome Suica Mobile works for visitors, and how resort lift cards, deposits and online recharges work. Facts and prices come from official operator pages, checked October 15, 2026.
Each region's rail operators issue their own card, but the main ones are interoperable. According to JR East's official Welcome Suica Mobile page, a Suica can be used on PASMO, Kitaca (JR Hokkaido), manaca and TOICA (Nagoya area), ICOCA and PiTaPa (Kansai), and nimoca, Hayakaken and SUGOCA (Kyushu) transport, and for e-money at shops displaying most of those logos (JR East).
| Card | Issued by | Home area |
|---|---|---|
| Suica | JR East | Tokyo, Tohoku, Niigata, parts of Nagano |
| PASMO | Tokyo private railways and subways | Tokyo area |
| ICOCA | JR West | Kansai, Hiroshima, Hokuriku |
| Kitaca | JR Hokkaido | Sapporo area |
| manaca / TOICA | Nagoya operators / JR Central | Nagoya and Shizuoka |
| SUGOCA / nimoca / Hayakaken | JR Kyushu / Nishitetsu / Fukuoka subway | Kyushu |
Yes. Sales of regular Suica and PASMO cards were suspended during the 2023–24 chip shortage. JR East and the PASMO Committee resumed sales on March 1, 2025 (JR East press release). The same release confirmed that the visitor-only PASMO PASSPORT card has been discontinued.
You buy a card at station ticket machines. A refundable deposit applies to regular cards, and the card stays usable for years. Unused balance and the deposit can be refunded at the issuer's station office, minus a handling fee, according to each issuer's rules.
JR East launched the Welcome Suica Mobile iOS app for overseas visitors in March 2025. Per JR East's official pages (app page, terms of use, effective Mar 1, 2026):
There's also a physical Welcome Suica card for visitors, sold at certain airport and station locations. JR East's website lists where to buy it.
ICOCA is JR West's card, sold at JR West stations including Kansai Airport. It works the same way as Suica across the interoperable areas. If you're flying into Kansai, it's the natural choice. If you already have a Suica, you don't need an ICOCA.
IC cards complement rail passes. Use the pass for JR long-distance trips and the IC card for subways and private lines that the pass doesn't cover. Some discount tickets we list, like the Tokyo Mizube Line 10% cashless discount, apply specifically when you pay by IC card. Day passes like the Kyoto Subway & Bus 1-Day Pass, Nagoya Donichi Eco Kippu and Osaka Amazing Pass can beat paying per ride by IC card if you make several trips in a day.
Most large Japanese ski resorts now use contactless IC lift tickets. The card goes in a pocket (keep it away from your phone and other IC cards) and the gate reads it as you pass.
| Resort | Card system | Deposit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niseko United, Hokkaido | IC key card | ¥1,000 | All-Mountain pass. Online purchase about 5% cheaper (Niseko United) |
| Rusutsu, Hokkaido | IC card | not stated | Peak 1-day ¥13,200 online vs ¥16,700 at the counter (Rusutsu) |
| Hoshino Resorts Tomamu, Hokkaido | IC card with online recharge | not stated | The Toma-Tomo pass for Hokkaido residents needs the IC card: ¥5,000, or ¥4,500 by online recharge (Tomamu) |
| Tokachi Sahoro, Hokkaido | IC card, rechargeable on the official web shop | not stated | Sahoro |
| Sapporo Kokusai, Hokkaido | IC card | required (amount not stated) | 1-day ¥7,000, or ¥6,700 on the web (Sapporo Kokusai) |
| Kamui Ski Links, Hokkaido | IC card | ¥500, refunded on return | Kamui |
| Nozawa Onsen, Nagano | IC card | ¥500 | Season pass ¥102,500 adult plus the IC deposit (Nozawa) |
| Hakuba Tsugaike, Nagano | IC card; web recharge from your second visit | not stated | Tsugaike |
| Hakuba Valley, Nagano | IC tickets | not stated | The 10-resort season pass early bird is ¥158,900 until Oct 29, 2026 (Hakuba Valley) |
"Not stated" means we couldn't find the deposit on the official page. We don't guess. Several resorts on our ski areas page are marked "partial" or "unverified" for the same reason.
The cheapest lift prices in Japan are increasingly online-only, and online purchase usually loads onto an IC card you already hold. On the official pages:
| You are... | Get this |
|---|---|
| A visitor with an iPhone | Welcome Suica Mobile (or Suica, PASMO or ICOCA in Wallet) |
| A visitor with Android or no smartphone | A physical Suica or PASMO (Tokyo), or ICOCA (Kansai) |
| Landing at Narita | IC card plus a Skyliner discount ticket or the N'EX round trip |
| Landing at Kansai | ICOCA plus a HARUKA one-way ticket |
| Going to Okinawa | Your IC card, plus the Yui Rail 1-day pass if you'll ride a lot |
| Skiing | The resort's IC lift card; buy online and keep the card |
Checked Oct 15, 2026 on official operator and resort pages. Waribiki Alert is an independent guide, not affiliated with any railway, card issuer or ski resort.
Yes. JR East and the PASMO Committee resumed sales of regular (non-personalized) Suica and PASMO cards on March 1, 2025, after a chip shortage. The PASMO PASSPORT visitor card was discontinued.
A JR East iPhone app for overseas visitors that issues a Suica in the app. It's valid for 180 days from issue, works across Japan's major IC networks, and holds up to ¥20,000. In some countries you can only set it up and top it up after arriving in Japan.
Yes, for trains, buses and shops in the major IC areas. Suica, PASMO, ICOCA, Kitaca, manaca, TOICA, SUGOCA, nimoca and Hayakaken are interoperable. A trip that crosses from one IC area into another (for example JR East to JR Central) generally can't be paid by IC; buy a ticket.
No. Resort lift systems are separate. Resorts issue their own IC lift cards (often with a ¥500–¥1,000 deposit). A few let you reload the same card online for later visits.
At most resorts, yes, when you return the card. For example, Kamui Ski Links charges a ¥500 deposit refunded on return. Niseko United's IC key card deposit is ¥1,000. Check each resort's page.
Niseko United · Rusutsu · Tomamu · Sahoro · Sapporo Kokusai · Kamui · Hakuba Valley · Nozawa Onsen · Tsugaike
Waribiki Alert is an information service, not a travel agency, and is not affiliated with any prefecture, agency or operator. Verify prices and rules on the official source before booking.
Narita Airport–Ueno/Nippori: ¥2,310 one way or ¥4,500 round trip online, vs ¥2,580 at the station. Children ¥1,150.
Narita Express round trip to Tokyo, Shinjuku, Shibuya, Yokohama etc. within 14 days: ¥5,200 adult (vs ¥6,280–¥9,620), ¥2,600 child.
Kansai Airport to Tennoji ¥1,300, Osaka/Shin-Osaka ¥1,800, Nara ¥1,800, Kobe ¥2,000, Kyoto ¥2,200. Children half.
Asakusa/Ryogoku–Odaiba water bus ¥1,800 instead of ¥2,000 (Asakusa–Ryogoku ¥540) when paying cashless.
24 hours of unlimited Okinawa Monorail rides: ¥1,000 adult, ¥500 child; pass also gives discounts at partner sights.
Unlimited Kyoto City subway and buses plus selected Kyoto Bus, Keihan Bus and JR Bus routes for one calendar day: ¥1,100 adult, ¥550 child.
Unlimited Nagoya subway and city buses on weekends, holidays and the 8th: ¥620 adult, ¥310 child; also discounts at sights.
Free entry to about 40 sights plus unlimited Osaka Metro, city buses and private railways within Osaka city: 1 day ¥3,500, 2 days ¥5,000 (Itami Airport version ¥3,800/¥5,400).
3 consecutive days around Greater Tokyo incl. Kawaguchiko (Fujikyu), Karuizawa, GALA Yuzawa, Izu and Nikko: ¥16,000 adult, ¥8,000 child.
Buying All Mountain passes online is about 5% cheaper than the counter (peak adult 1-day ¥12,800 online vs ¥13,500). The 50-hour pass (¥121,200) is online-only.
Peak-season (Dec 19, 2026–Mar 14, 2027) adult 1-day ticket is ¥13,200 online vs ¥16,700 at the counter; 25-hour ticket ¥36,000 online vs ¥39,000.
Hokkaido residents ski Tomamu for ¥5,000 a day (¥4,500 when recharging online on repeat visits) vs ¥9,500 counter.
Early-bird season pass bought Oct 1–Nov 30, 2026: adult ¥76,000 vs ¥98,000 from Dec 1. Hokkaido residents' early bird is ¥65,000, with a ¥100 kids' season pass for same-household children.
Kamori Kanko's multi-resort season pass at early-bird prices: Standard adult ¥95,000 (¥92,000 repeaters). Teine says up to ¥28,000 off for Gold adult. Premium and Gold sold out on Rusutsu's English page.
Adult 1-day ¥5,800 in early (Nov 28–Dec 11, 2026) and spring (Apr 12–May 5, 2027) seasons vs ¥9,200 high season; multi-day passes can be used on non-consecutive days.
Season pass valid opening–May 5; a March-onward pass (¥55,500) also on sale from Feb 1.
Early-bird price for the 10-resort Hakuba Valley season pass, open to overseas buyers. Includes shuttle, restaurant and rental perks.
Adult 1-day ticket at ¥4,500 if bought in October, ¥5,000 in November.